© കേരള സർക്കാർ Government of Kerala 2025



Regn.No. KERBIL/2012/45073 dated 05-09-2012 with RNI Reg No.KL/TV(N)/634/2021-2023

കേരള ഗസറ്റ് KERALA GAZETTE അസാധാരണം EXTRAORDINARY

ആധികാരികമായി പ്രസിദ്ധപ്പെടുത്തുന്നത് PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

വാല്യം 14 Vol. XIV തിരുവനന്തപുരം, വെള്ളി

Thiruvananthapuram, Friday 2025 എപ്രിൽ 04 04th April 2025 1200 മീനം 21 21st Meenam 1200 1947 ചൈത്രം 14 14th Chaithra 1947

നമ്പർ No. 1

1327

GOVERNMENT OF KERALA

Local Self Government (RD) Department

NOTIFICATION

G.O.(P)No.19/2025/LSGD S. R. O. No. 388/2025 Dated, Thi

Thiruvananthapuram,

<u>4th April, 2025</u>

21st Meenam, 1200.

In exercise of the powers conferred by clause (c) of Article 243 P of the Constitution of India, the Governor of Kerala having regard to the population of the area, notified the territorial areas for the time being covered by the Municipalities and Panchayats of Thiruvananthapuram, Ernakulam and Kozhikode Districts in the State of Kerala to be the Metropolitan areas namely, Thiruvananthapuram, Kochi and Kozhikode, for the purpose of PART IX-A of the Constitution of India, in pursuance of the notification issued under G.O. (Ms.)No. 256/95/LAD. dated 14th November, 1995 and published as S.R.O. No. 1435/1995 in the Kerala Gazette Extraordinary No. 1211 dated 4th December, 1995. In the SCHEDULE of the said notification, in respect of Kochi Metropolitan area in Ernakulam District, the territorial area covered by Thiruvankulam Gramapanchayat has merged with Thripunithura Municipality vide G.O. (P) No. 114/10/LSGD. dated 8th June, 2010 and Thrikkakara, Eloor and Maradu Gramapanchayats have converted into Municipalities vide G.O.(P) No. 116/10/LSGD. dated 9th June, 2010. Now, therefore, the Governor of Kerala, hereby decides to amend the SCHEDULE of the notification issued under G.O. (Ms.) No. 256/95/LAD. dated 14th November, 1995 and published as S.R.O. No. 1435/1995 in the Kerala Gazette Extraordinary No. 1211 dated 4th December, 1995.

AMENDMENT

In the said notification, in the SCHEDULE, in Serial No.II, for the entries against column (2), (3) and (4) the following shall be substituted, namely:-

Serial No.	District	<i>Territorial areas covered by</i> <i>Municipalities/Panchayats</i> (3)		Name of Metropolitan area
(1)	(2)			(4)
II	1. Ernakulam	Kochi	Corporation	Kochi
	2. "	Thripunithura	Municipality	22
	3. "	Perumbavoor	"	22
	4. "	Kalamassery	"	22
	5. "	Paravur	"	22
	6. "	Aluva	"	22
	7. "	Angamaly	"	22
	8. "	Eloor	"	"

9.	"	Thrikkakara	"	"
10.	22	Maradu	"	"
11.	22	Pallipuram	Panchayat	"
12.	22	Kuzhupilly	"	"
13.	>>	Edavanakad	"	"
14.	>>	Nayarambalam	"	"
15.	22	Mulavukad	"	"
16.	>>	Njarakkal	"	"
17.	"	Cheranallur	"	"
18.	22	Kadamakudy	"	"
19.	"	Varapuzha	"	"
20.	"	Kottuvally	"	"
21.	"	Ezhikkara	"	"
22.	"	Kodungallur	"	"
23.	"	Alengad	"	"
24.	"	Churnikkara	"	"
25.	"	Edathala	"	"
26.	"	Kizhmadu	"	"
27.	"	Sreemoolanagaram	"	"
28.	22	Chengamanadu	"	"
29.	22	Nedumbaserry	"	"
30.	"	Kanjoor	"	"



31.	>>	Vazhakkulam	>>	"
32.	"	Chellanam	"	"
33.	"	Vadavukodu Puthencruz	22	"
34.	"	Chottanikkara	"	"
35.	22	Mulanthuruthy	"	"
36.	22	Udayamperur	"	"
37.	"	Kumbalam	"	"
38.	22	Kumbalangy	"	"
39.	"	Elamkunnapuzha	"	"

By order of the Governor, DR. SHARMILA MARY JOSEPH, *Principal Secretary to Government.*

Explanatory Note

(This does not form part of the notification, but is intended to indicate its general purport.)

As per clause (c) of Article 243P of the Constitution of India "Metropolitan area" means an area having a population of ten lakhs or more, comprised in one or more districts and consisting of two or more Municipalities or Panchayats or other contiguous areas specified by the Governor by public notification to be a Metropolitan area for the purpose of Part IX-A of the Constitution of India. The Governor of Kerala, having regard to the population of the area, notified the territorial areas for the time being covered by the Municipalities and Panchayats of Thiruvananthapuram, Ernakulam and Kozhikode Districts in the State of Kerala to be the Metropolitan areas, namely, Thiruvananthapuram, Kochi and Kozhikode, for the purpose of PART IX-A of the Constitution of India in pursuance of the notification issued under G.O.(Ms.)No.256/95/LAD. dated 14th

November, 1995 and published as S.R.O. No.1435/1995 in the Kerala Gazette Extraordinary No.1211 dated 4th December, 1995. In the SCHEDULE of the said notification with respect to Kochi Metropolitan area in the Ernakulam District, the territorial area covered by Thiruvankulam Gramapanchayat has merged with Thripunithura Municipality vide G.O.(P) No.114/10/LSGD dated 8th June, 2010 and Thrikkakara, Eloor and Maradu Gramapanchayats have converted into Municiplities vide G.O.(P) No.116/10/LSGD dated 9th June, 2010. Now, therefore, the Governor of Kerala, hereby decides to amend the SCHEDULE of the notification issued under G.O.(Ms.) No.256/95/LAD. dated 14th November, 1995 and published as S.R.O. No.1435/1995 in the Kerala Gazette Extraordinary No.1211 dated 4th December, 1995.

The notification is intended to achieve the above object.

