Home / History

     State Election Commission is constituted under Articles 243 K and 243 ZA of the Constitution of India for the superintendence, direction and control of the preparation of the electoral rolls for, and  the conduct of  all elections to the Panchayats and the Municipalities   in the  State.  The State Election Commission, Kerala came into existence on 3rd December 1993. The State Election Commissioner is appointed by the Governor of Kerala  under clause (1) of  Article 243 K of the Constitution of India. The Government,  as per Notification SRO No. 978/B/2013 issued in  GO (Ms) No. 378/2013/LSGD, dated 05.12.2013 have conferred on the State Election Commissioner the status, salary and allowances  of a Judge of  the High Court. The tenure of the State Election Commissioner is for a period of five years  from the date he assumed charge or till he attains the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.

     The State Election Commissioner is one of the members of the Delimitation Commission of India,  setup under Delimitation Act 2002, to delimit the boundaries of Assembly and  Parliamentary constituencies in the State.  State Election Commissioner is also the  Chairman of the State Delimitation Commission constituted from time to time, to delimit the constituencies of Panchayats and wards of Municipalities and Municipal Corporations in the State.


Previous Commissioners